India Tourist Visa

What is the Indian tourist visa?

The online tourist visa for India is an electronic travel authorization that allows citizens of eligible countries to visit India. The tourist e-Visa for India was launched on October 2014 to simplify the process of obtaining a visa and attracting more foreign visitors.

The Indian tourist visa or e-Tourist visa allows the holder to visit India for touristic purposes. Some of the reasons to travel to India with this type of visa are:

  • Engaging in tourism activism
  • Visiting friends and family
  • Attending a yoga retreat

How does eTourist visa work?

Obtaining an e-Tourist visa is a fairly simple process. Eligible travelers can complete the application providing a few essential details which include their full name, date and place of birth, address, contact info and passport data. All applicants must answer a series of security questions and pay the eTourist visa fee with a debit or credit card.

There are a few things that all travelers who wish to get their tourist visa for India must know before submitting their application:

  1. The e-Tourist visa for India validity is 90 days from the arrival date, 180 days for citizens of Japan, Canada, the US and the UK.
  2. This visa type is non-convertible and non-extendable.
  3. Individuals can apply for a maximum of two e-Visas during a calendar year.
  4. Applicants are required to have sufficient funds to support themselves during their stay in India.
  5. Travelers are required to carry a copy of their approved e-Visa India authorisation at all times during their stay.
  6. Visitors must have a return or an onward ticket when applying for their e-Tourist visa.
  7. All applicants must have an individual passport, regardless of their age.
  8. Parents may not include their children in their online Visa for India application.
  9. The e-Tourist visa cannot be used and is not valid to visit protected/restricted or Cantonment areas.
  10. The applicant’s passport must be valid for at least 6 months from the date of arrival in India. The passport must have at least two blank pages for the immigration and border control authorities to place the entry and exit stamps.
  11. Applicants who hold International Travel Documents or Diplomatic Passports cannot apply for an e-Tourist visa for India.

What you can do with the India e-Tourist visa?

The e-Tourist visa is an electronic travel authorization designed for travelers who wish to visit India for tourism purposes. This type of eVisa for India can be used to visit landmarks, explore the country, and learn about the culture. The e-Tourist visa can also be obtained to visit family or friends in India.

Many foreign travelers obtain the e-Tourist visa to participate in yoga retreats. India is thought of one of the most spiritual places on Earth. Some of the most sacred sites can be found in the country including the Taj Mahal, Varanasi, Rishikesh, or the Ellora and Ajanta Caves. India is the birthplace of Jainism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Sikhism, and where yoga started.

In the west, yoga focuses a lot more on physical postures and sequences: the asana. However, in India, especially in traditional ashrams, asana is a small part of the yoga experience. You can expect a lot more focus on meditation, breathing and cleansing techniques as well as devotional practices including mantra chanting, philosophy, and community service or what is known as karma yoga. You can travel to India with the e-Tourist visa to participate in a yoga retreat.

How long you can stay in India with eTourist visa?

The e-Tourist visa for India is a double entry visa that grants a total stay of up to 90 days from the the date of first entry in India or 180 days for nationals from Japan, Canada, US and the UK. A traveler can obtain a maximum of two e-Tourist visas within one year.

An e-Tourist visa holder must arrive through one of the 28 designated airports or 5 designated seaports. To leave India, eTourist visa holders can depart from any of the authorized Immigration Check Posts (ICPS) in India. If you are planning to arrive by land or through other port of entry you need to get a visa at an embassy or consulate.